CALL NOW 214-329-0376
Your Experienced DUI Lawyer in Dallas, TX
A DUI/DWI can put you in a difficult position, so it’s important to have someone experienced on your side. Phillip Linder has dedicated his career to helping people like you reclaim their lives after this charge. Read on to learn the details about DUI/DWI charges and how Phillip Linder can defend you.
Find the Answers to Your DUI Questions
The more you understand about DUI/DWI, the better prepared you’ll be for your court date. Choose the section that best answers your questions, and learn more about the details involved with DUI/DWI cases.
Is it a DUI or DWI?
DUI and DWI represent similar charges and the acronyms are nearly identical, so it’s common to be confused about them. The acronyms stand for:
DUI: Driving Under the Influence
DWI: Driving While Intoxicated
Neither charge is specific to a certain substance and can be applied to driving under the influence of any substance. The truth is, they both represent the same kind of charge — but a DUI is a lesser charge than a DWI.
Steps to Take After Your Charge
Time is critical when dealing with a DUI/DWI charge in Texas. You only have 15 days after your charge to schedule a hearing to appeal your driver’s license suspension. If you don’t contest your driver’s license suspension, your suspension will usually begin 40 days after the date of your arrest.
It’s important to get an experienced and diligent lawyer on your side as early as possible. Phillip Linder will look over all aspects of your case and try to find a solution to lower or eradicate your charge.
Understanding the Zero Tolerance Policy of Texas
Every state has a different policy regarding DUI charges. Texas is among the harshest, with a zero-tolerance policy. This applies especially for people under the age of 21, who are held accountable for a DWI if any trace of alcohol is detected.
This charge is known as a DUIA, or driving under the influence as a minor. The punishments for having a blood alcohol level of less than .08% are less harsh, but any trace of alcohol is still illegal.
Can a DUI Be Lowered to a Lesser Charge?
Phillip Linder may be able to lower your DUI charge to a lesser charge. The charge below a DUI is called Obstruction of a Highway. This charge carries significantly less severity. Phillip Linder can examine your case to see if he can reduce your charge.
Obstruction of a Highway is generally viewed as a traffic offense and doesn’t carry the stigma of a DUI and means less consequences. It’s a big improvement over a DUI/DWI charge.
DUI Penalties in Texas
Penalties for a DUI in Texas depend heavily on whether it was your first or a repeated offense. Beyond that, other factors that affect your case include whether anyone was injured, property damage, and how the interaction with police transpired. Texas laws are tougher on DUIs than most other states. The chart below summarizes the penalties DUI offenders face for their first, second, and third offense in Texas:
Possible DUI Defenses
If you’ve been charged with a DUI, FIGHT IT! You may be surprised at the options available to you, especially if you hire an experienced drug lawyer who knows the field, like Phillip Linder. With the right defensive strategy, you stand a chance of regaining your freedom after being charged with a DUI or DWI. Here are some of the ways Phillip Linder can defend your DUI charge:
– Dispute the validity of the sobriety test
– Question the accuracy of the BAC test
– Challenge the reason you were stopped
These are just a few of the potential strategies that can be used to reduce or clear your charges. Phillip Linder is an experienced lawyer who may employ one or more of those strategies if it strengthens your case.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is DUI a felony in Texas?
Is DUI a felony in Texas?
A DUI in Texas isn’t a felony. On the other hand, a DWI can be a felony sometimes. Whether a DWI is a felony depends on the circumstances.
A DWI is a felony in Texas if another motorist or pedestrian is injured or killed, there’s a child passenger in the car, or it’s at least the third DWI offense.
How long does a DWI stay on your record in Texas?
Expunging your charge means wiping it off of your record completely. In order for your DWI to be expunged, you must not have been convicted. The DWI can be expunged by being brought down to a lesser charge.
Do I need a lawyer for a DUI in Texas?
He has a higher potential to be able to reduce your charge and save you from some of the tough consequences of a DUI/DWI charge.
Contact Phillip Linder for a Free Case Review
When you choose Phillip Linder as your lawyer, you’re choosing an experienced and knowledgeable lawyer who will fight for your rights. With over 25 years of helping people of Texas earn favorable verdicts, you can believe in him.
To learn more about how he can help you, call our office by dialing 214-329-0376 or you can reach us by filling out the contact form on this page. Phillip Linder can review your case for free, so there’s no reason to hesitate.