Standard Punishments for Drug Crimes in Texas
Ideally, if you’ve been accused of a drug crime, you’ll seek representation and may be able to win your case or at least get a reduced sentence. However, for those who commit these crimes, many end up paying the penalty imposed by the state. Of all 50 states, you’ll find that some of the drug laws in Texas are the most severe and that even marijuana, which is legal in other states, incurs harsh penalties in Texas. Learn more about the drug laws and punishments of Texas.
What Determines the Severity of Penalties?
Several factors combine to determine the penalty you’ll face for committing a drug crime in Texas. First, different types of drugs are treated with varying levels of severity and will bring about different charges and penalties. It also matters whether you were selling, possessing, or manufacturing the drug because all of these instances are treated differently. Other circumstances will also factor into the severity of your punishment, such as gang affiliation or violence.
Marijuana Crimes and Penalties
Unlike 30 states that have legalized some form of marijuana use in the US, the drug remains highly illegal in Texas and it carries harsh penalties for those who possess, grow, or sell the substance. Learn more about the maximum penalties you can get for marijuana crimes in Texas.
Penalties for Possessing Marijuana in Texas
If you’re arrested, searched, and marijuana is found in your possession, you’ll be charged with a crime based on the amount of marijuana that was found. Below are the maximum penalties that may be brought about for simply possessing marijuana in Texas.
– Under 2 ounces is a Class B Misdemeanor that can result in 180 days in jail and $2000 fine.
– Two to four ounces of marijuana can result in a 1-year jail sentence and a fine of $4000.
– For possessing 5 lbs of marijuana, you may get up to 2-years in jail and a $10,000 fine.
– For possession of 50-2000 lbs of marijuana, you may do 20 years in jail.
Penalties for Selling Marijuana in Texas
Sales of marijuana also include trafficking or delivering the substance. The amount that’s found during the time of the arrest plays a large role in the penalties received. These are the maximum penalties that you can expect if arrested for trafficking marijuana.
– 7 grams or less is a misdemeanor which results in up to 180 days in jail and a $2000 fine.
– Up to 5 lbs of marijuana is a felony in Texas that leads to 1-year of jail time and a $4000 fine.
– Selling to a minor is a felony that leads to a maximum of 20 years in prison and a $20,000 fine.
Growing and Cultivating Marijuana
Marijuana is often grown in greenhouses or indoors in hydroponic labs. As with most drug crimes, the weight of the marijuana that’s being grown will be the main factor that determines the penalty.
Different Jurisdictions May Have Unique Policies
Certain smaller jurisdictions may have varying policies for how they handle low-level offenses. For example, counties such as Harris County in Texas will not prosecute crimes where only four ounces or less are involved. Nevertheless, getting arrested for marijuana crimes in most parts of Texas will result in harsh penalties.
Remember That Marijuana is No Laughing Matter in Texas
After seeing marijuana regularly on the news and in mainstream media as a readily available and legal substance, it can be easy to assume that it’s that way everywhere. However, states can be vastly different when it comes to the laws they enforce, and as a border state, Texas is much harsher than others when it comes to drugs, including marijuana. Knowing your rights and laws of your area can save you from potential jail time in the future.